Off to Siem Reap

Today, I’m heading to Siem Reap, a city in the northwest section of Cambodia. Siem Reap is famous for its proximity to the Angkor temples, including Angkor Wat. After a long week of international travel and teaching, I’m looking forward to this weekend getaway.

Siem Reap is do-able by car, but I chose to fly. The 40 minute flight from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap on Bassaka Air cost me $19. Phnom Penh International Airport, which I flew into several days ago, is beautiful, modern, and clean.

img_2817

The approach to security. Looks just like LGA, right?

img_2816

This must be on loan from LGA, JFK, or EWR, right?

I was surprised by the cost of food at the airport, although I guess airport food is always pricey. This spread cost me $6.70 USD. Most of my lunches and dinners to date have cost in the $3-5 range. Still, it’s a bargain compared to American airports.

img_2818

More updates and lots of pictures once I get to Siem Reap!

About Larry Cunningham

Law professor and Vice Dean at St. John's Law School. Former prosecutor and defense attorney.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.